Go To Search
Click to Home
Find a Department
Arts Commission
About the Commission
The Pierce County Arts Commission was formed in 1985 to serve as a volunteer advisory group to Pierce County government. The commission is appointed for their interest, experience, and support of the arts.

Commissioners are appointed by the executive and confirmed by the County Council for three-year terms. Each council district is represented by one commissioner, additional commissioners serve at-large.

Commission Vacancies 
The Pierce County Economic Development Department is seeking a citizen volunteer to serve on its nine member Arts Commission (PCAC) for a three-year term. Successful candidates will be appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. Candidates are being recruited from District 2 (visit the link to see if you reside within this district). 

The PCAC is recognized by the State of Washington and Pierce County for the important role it plays in delivering programs and services that stimulate participation and growth in the arts throughout Pierce County. Ideal candidates should possess acknowledged accomplishments in one or more of the following fields: architecture, art criticism, art education, history, dance, communicative arts, theatre, heritage arts, landscape architecture, music, painting, photography, planning, sculpture, or ethnic arts or have publicly demonstrated a deep interest in and appreciation of cultural and artistic activities. 

Meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of Jan, Apr, July, and October from 5:30 to 7:30 pm. Additional meetings may be held.

If interested, please complete the application and mail to:

Attn: Kathy Sorgenfrei
Pierce County Economic Development Dept
950 Pacific Ave, Ste 720
Tacoma, WA  98402

Current Pierce County Arts Commissioners
  • District 1 - Christina Kitchens, President
  • District 2 - Vacancy
  • District 3 - Kimatha Kesner 
  • District 4 - Jenifer Davis 
  • District 5 - Jeffrey Lombardi 
  • District 6 - Ellen Kaspi
  • District 7 - Katia Ramirez, Vice-President   
  • At Large - Philip Chang 
  • At Large - Zakiyyah Cordell

2016 Meeting Schedule
  • January 14, 2016- 5:30 p.m.
    Parkland-Spanaway Sheriff Precinct, Moran Room, 495 Shandon Wright Way S, Tacoma, WA, 98444
  • April 14, 2016 - 5:30 p.m.
    Pierce County Library PAC | 3005 112th Street East, Tacoma, WA 98446
  • July 14, 2016 - 5:30 p.m.
    Pierce County Library PAC | 3005 112th Street East, Tacoma, WA 98446
  • October 13, 2016 - 5:30 p.m. Meeting cancelled/will be rescheduled
    Pierce County Library PAC | 3005 112th Street East, Tacoma, WA 98446
  • October 27, 2016 - 5:30 pm
    Pierce County Economic Development Office | 950 Pacific Ave, Ste 720, Tacoma, WA 98402

If special meetings are needed outside of the regularly scheduled meetings, those meetings notifications will be posted on this website.

Contact Us

Economic Development Department

950 Pacific Ave.
Suite 720
Tacoma, WA 98402

Ph: (253) 798-6150
Fx: (253) 798-6389

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Info Advanced