Bridge & Road Restrictions
Jury Duty Information
Neighborhood Crime Data
Sex Offender Search
Superior Court Case Information (LINX)
Weddings & Special Events
Auto & Boat
Pierce County ALERT
County Council Meetings
Pierce County TV
Assessor - Treasurer
Assigned Counsel (Public Defender)
Budget & Finance
Clerk of the Superior Court
Family Justice Center
Parks & Recreation
Planning & Land Services
How do I change my name?
How do I get a copy of my marriage certificate?
Has my marriage certificate been returned?
Can the three day waiting period be waived?
What are the minimum ages for applicants?
Marriage License Fee Increase to $66.00 Effective October 9, 2015.
Marriage Licensing and Certificates
Are you getting married? Congratulations! The marriage license process has four steps. Remember! Washington State has a mandatory 3-day waiting period so plan ahead.
Step 1: Fi
out the application.
The application m
ust be completed on a computer, using this
. When you're done filling out the application, click the "Apply" button.
If you don't have a computer, you can use one of the computers in our office.
Step 2: Submit the application, with the
The easiest way to complete the process is to come to our office. Come in together, bring photo ID (both
people must be 18)
and $64. We
not accept personal checks.
You'll be given a Marriage License.
If you are unable to appear in person together, you can
submit the application by mail
Step 3: Get Married!
Once your license is issued, you must wait three days before the marriage can take place. (The day you get your license is day 1.) Your license will be valid for 60 days after being issued.
This waiting period is Washington State law and cannot be waived so plan ahead!
If you are looking for someone to perform your ceremony there are some ideas
If you are an officiant and have questions please click
Step 4: Return the license and get certified copies.
After you have gotten married, the signed original marriage license must be returned to us. It can be returned by mail or in person.
Once it has been returned you may purchase certified copies for $3 each in person or by mail. You'll need certified copies to:
Change your name with Social Security.
Apply for military benefits.
Change your driver's license.
To order copies by mail please fill out
and return it with the appropriate payment.
Other questions? Check out our
2401 S. 35th St.
Tacoma, WA 98409
Map to Auditor's Office
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Auditor's Office Fee List
Marriage Ceremony Providers
Marriage Equality FAQ's
Q and A - Marriage for Same Sex Couples in Washington
Department of Licensing (Driver's License update)
Powered by CivicPlus