Wastewater Collections

The wastewater collections system includes the sewer pipelines, pump stations, grinder pumps, and service manholes that provide sewer service to households and businesses throughout Pierce County.

Service Area

The sewer service area includes the cities of Lakewood, University Place, Steilacoom, Milton, Dupont, Fife, Tacoma and unincorporated county areas of Spanaway, Parkland, Brown's Point, South Hill, Frederickson and Graham. It also includes the entire urban growth area as established by the Pierce County Comprehensive Plan.

Using radio telemetry and alarm systems, wastewater collections staff monitor and maintain:
  • 688 miles of sewer pipelines
  • 103 individual pumping stations
  • 4 odor control facilities
  • 853 residential grinder pumps
  • 14,946 service manholes