Arts Commission

About the Commission

The Pierce County Arts Commission (Commission) was formed in 1985 to serve as a volunteer advisory group to Pierce County government. This nine member Commission is recognized by the State of Washington and Pierce County for the important role it plays in delivering programs and services that stimulate participation and growth in the arts throughout Pierce County. The Commission is administered by Pierce County's Economic Development Department. 

Commission Vacancies

Candidates are being recruited from District 3 and 7 to fill two vacancies starting July 1, 2017 (term length is three years). Successful candidates will be appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. Visit District 3 or District 7 webpages to see if you reside within one of these districts.

Ideal candidates should possess acknowledged accomplishments in one or more of the following fields: architecture, art criticism, art education, history, dance, communicative arts, theatre, heritage arts, landscape architecture, music, painting, photography, planning, sculpture, or ethnic arts, or have publicly demonstrated a deep interest in and appreciation of cultural and artistic activities.

If interested, please complete the application and mail to:

Attn: Kathy Sorgenfrei
Pierce County Economic Development Dept
950 Pacific Ave, Ste 720
Tacoma, WA 98402

2018 Meeting Schedule

  • February 22 - 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • May 17 - 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • August 16 - 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • November 15 - 5:30 pm - 7:30 p.m.
All meetings are open to the public and are held at the Pierce County Economic Development Department located at 950 Pacific Ave, Suite 720, Tacoma, WA, 98402.

Any changes to the schedule or meeting place, including cancellations or special meetings, will be posted on this page and will be prominently displayed at the Pierce County Economic Development Department office at 950 Pacific Avenue, Suite 720, in Tacoma. 

Current Pierce County Arts Commissioners

  • District 1 - Joyce Alvarez
  • District 2 - Julio Jauregui
  • District 3 - Vacant
  • District 4 - Jenifer Davis
  • District 5 - Jeffrey Lombardi
  • District 6 - Ellen Kaspi
  • District 7 - Vacant
  • At Large - Philip Chang
  • At Large - Christina Kitchens, President