This 64-acres in the Frederickson area known as the Stan and Joan Cross Park, lies in the heart of the County's urban growth area between 176th Street East and Military Road East.As part of Phase 1 of the park's Master Plan, the northern 4-acres of the site have been developed to provide the community with green space, a universally accessible playground, historic barns refurbished into a community center, indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces, walking paths, picnic areas, and on-site parking.
Visitors will enjoy walking along the pathways and accessible picnicking opportunities near wetlands and forested areas adjacent to the newly-improved Naches Trail Preserve prairie habitat, providing a unique opportunity to connect with nature.
Cross Park also provides an on-going restoration of the headwaters of Clover Creek and the adjacent priority habitat of prairie grassland, white oak savannah and wetland. The entire park site with the exception of the Frederickson Community Center is open and available for public use.
Tour of Cross Park
Park operating hours will be subject to change as we move in to fall and winter and daylight hours get shorter.
Open daily 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through March
Frederickson Community Center
All Pierce County parks and facilities will continue to follow safety protocols and restrictions in accordance with Governor Inslee’s Safe Start Proclamation
Cross Park was made possible by the generous donations and funds from the Friends of Stan and Joan Cross Park, the tax payers of Washington State, Pierce County impact fees, and all of the contributing private donors and charitable organizations.
Cross Park has a rich history in the Frederickson community from the Native Americans and the pioneer days to the mid 1930's when the Mayflower Dairy hay and milking farm became a staple in the community. According to Joan Cross, "The land of the Stan and Joan Cross Park is known to be a part of the Frederick Meyer Land Donation Claim in the mid 1800's. In 1973, Stan and Joan Cross purchased sixty two and one half acres from the Sutter family. They raised beef cattle and other farm animals. The dairy had irrigation rights to take water from Clover Creek from an 1858 permit obtained by Frederick and Louise Meyer. The Cross family kept up this permit until the land was sold to Pierce County" in 2003.
Phase 1 construction began June 10, 2019 with the focus on refurbishing the historic barns and was completed in September of 2020. Project design was made possible thanks to the fundraising efforts of the Friends of Stan and Joan Cross Park, which pledged $15,000 to support the original grant application.
Interested in future reservations with the Frederickson Community Center and/or recreation activities?